- Online Tennessee Traffic School Approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security (TDOS).
- Satisfies a Court Order to Attend a Traffic School for Traffic Ticket/Citation Dismissal (for Traffic ticket/citation dismissal please contact the court for permission by the date listed on the citation).
- Qualifies You For Up to a 10% Car Insurance Discount.
- Audio Narration and Video Streaming Formats Available.
- Most Convenient and Easy Way to Complete Tennessee Traffic School.
- Unlimited Final Exam Retakes for Free.
- Certificate Available for Download Immediately Upon Completion (for traffic tickets submit it to the court and for a car insurance discount submit the certificate to your insurance company).
Tennessee Traffic School Online
Traffic school is an excellent way to both dismiss a traffic ticket or citation and receive an auto insurance discount. And instead of taking the course in a classroom, you have the option to complete traffic school completely online!
With DriveSafeToday, our DSHS-approved course gives you the opportunity to learn defensive driving skills through fun and engaging material. It also satisfies a court requirement to attend a defensive driving course.
This 4-hour course is designed with you in mind and can be completed from the comfort of your home! Here’s what our traffic school includes:
- Self-paced material so you can complete on your own schedule.
- Available in audio narration and video streaming formats.
- Unlimited final exam retakes (at no extra charge!).
- Interactive lessons that teach TN traffic laws and defensive driving skills.
When you’ve finished the course, you’ll receive a certificate of completion that you can submit to the court to dismiss your traffic ticket or send to your insurance provider for an insurance discount. It’s simple, fast, and the best way to keep you and others safe on the road.
Please note: This course does not satisfy a court requirement to attend an 8-hour defensive driving course or driving school program.
Benefits of TN Online Traffic School
Tennessee traffic school provides the opportunity for you to either dismiss a traffic ticket or citation and qualify for a 10% insurance discount -- completely online.
Traffic Ticket or Citation Dismissal
A traffic ticket can be devastating to your driving record. If too many points are applied to your record, you could have your driver’s license suspended or even lose your license altogether.
Online traffic school can stop points from being applied to your record. Unless you’ve already received a court order to complete traffic school due to a traffic violation, here’s how to get your traffic ticket dismissed:
- Request permission from the court to take online traffic school (before the date listed on your citation).
- If permission is received, register for the online traffic school course and go through the lessons.
- Complete the course by the deadline provided by the court.
At the end of the course, you’ll have to take a final exam and score a minimum of 80%. Luckily, with DriveSafeToday, you can’t fail traffic school since you have unlimited retakes!
Check your driving record after a few weeks to ensure that your traffic ticket was dismissed and no points were applied to your driving record.
Auto Insurance Discount
High insurance rates can be difficult to cover every month. Tennessee traffic school can help lower your insurance rates by up to 10% over 3 consecutive years.
To access these savings, here are the steps you should take:
- Contact your insurance provider and inquire if they offer the insurance discount. If they do, ask if you would qualify for the discount by taking online traffic school.
- Sign up for online traffic school and complete the course material and final exam.
- Submit your certificate of completion to your insurance provider.
Upon receiving your certificate, your insurance provider should apply the insurance discount. You can take traffic school again in 3 years to renew the discount.
Sign up for DSHS-Approved Online Traffic School in Tennessee
At DriveSafeToday, we believe that traffic school shouldn’t be boring or difficult. That’s why our 4-hour online course is designed to be as engaging and simple as possible.
If you can’t finish the course in one sitting, simply pause and the course will save your progress so you can pick up right where you left off. No need to sit in a stuffy classroom for hours.
Through the course, you also learn necessary defensive driving skills to keep you and others safe. Register for DriveSafeToday online traffic school today.
Frequently Asked Questions
Once you complete the traffic school we'll immediately email a copy of your certificate to you and provide a copy to download for free. You may also order a printed signed & sealed certificate through your account. At DriveSafeToday, we strive to make the process of course completion as simple as possible.
Yes, our traffic school is approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety for ticket dismissal. Be sure you receive approval from the court prior to registration. This is the most affordable and convenient way to dismiss your traffic citation.
Unfortunately not at this time. We only provide the 4 hour traffic school that is approved by TDOS. Please be sure to check back as we're continuously adding new courses to our site.
Yes, our course is approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety.
No, this course is only valid for non-commercial TN licenses & cannot be used to obtain a CDL.
No, we do not notify the TN DMV. You are personally responsible for notifying the TN DMV if required.
No, we do not notify the court. You are personally responsible for notifying the court if required.
You will learn about Tennessee traffic laws, as well as defensive driving skills to keep you and others safe in the car. The course material is also available in audio narration and video streaming formats to make lessons easy to digest.
Deadlines to complete traffic school are typically mandated by the court. Check your court deadline for ticket dismissal to determine how long you have to complete the course. Our online course at DriveSafeToday has no expiration date - once you register for the course, you have as long as you want to complete the coursework.
Yes, a state-approved traffic school course (also known as a defensive driving course) can keep a ticket off your driving record. Contact the court to receive permission to register for traffic school. We recommend an online course so you can complete at your own pace.
The state of TN requires that traffic school be at least 4 hours in length. Our course at DriveSafeToday is DSHS-approved and 4 hours long. But since it's online, you can complete lessons on your own time rather than spending a day in a physical classroom.
Completing a defensive driving course helps keep points off your record as you can use it to get a traffic ticket or citation dismissed. If you want to dismiss a traffic ticket/citation to keep points from being added to your driver's license (too many points can eventually cause your license to be suspended), you'll need to contact the court for permission to take a defensive driving course by the date listed on the citation.
No, traffic school can actually help you reduce your monthly insurance rates by up to 10%. Contact your insurance provider before taking a course to ensure that they offer the discount. Complete the course and then present the certificate of completion to your insurance provider to receive your insurance discount.
With DriveSafeToday's course you have unlimited retakes of the final exam to achieve a passing score of 80%. Take the exam as many times as needed to pass (at no extra charge) and receive your certificate of completion.
You can save a significant amount of money thanks to the auto insurance discount that a defensive driving course provides. Completing a defensive driving course means that you can receive a discount on your auto insurance monthly rate. This percentage adds up over time. The average cost of auto insurance (minimum liability coverage) in TN is about $577 per year or $48 per month. If your insurance company provides a 10% insurance discount then over one year you can save over $57. And in 3 years, you'll have saved over $171. Considering the low price of the course (DriveSafeToday's course costs only $19.95) and the ability to complete the course in one afternoon, the course is well worth the investment. Be sure to check with your insurance company for full details on how much of a discount they provide and for how long. This will allow you to determine the exact benefit from taking the course.
If you are wanting to complete traffic school to dismiss a traffic ticket or citation, contact your local court to determine your eligibility. General eligibility requirements normally include a non-commercial TN driver's license, a license that hasn't been revoked or suspended, and your ticket/citation was for a non-criminal moving violation. If you want to complete traffic school to access an auto insurance discount, contact your insurance provider to inquire about your eligibility.
Driving school in Tennessee can be completed once every 12 months to keep points from being added to your record or to have a traffic ticket dismissed.
For a court-mandated order to complete a defensive driving course, you'll need to contact the court about receiving an extension.
A defensive driving course can save you up to 10% on your monthly auto insurance premiums. To access this discount, contact your insurance provider to ensure that they offer this discount. Next, register and take a defensive driving course such as with DriveSafeToday. Once you've passed the final exam, you can send your certificate of completion to your insurance provider to have the discount applied to your monthly insurance rate.
A speeding ticket can stay on your driving record for up to 5 years in Tennessee. A defensive driving course can prevent a speeding ticket from going on your record. To get your traffic ticket dismissed, contact the court and ask for permission to complete an online defensive driving course. Once you've finished the course and submitted your certificate of completion, check your driving record to ensure that no violation or points have been added.
STATE REPORTING FEE
You have already completed and passed a DHSMV Online Permit Exam. Please click below button to check.
Drive Safe Today considers “unapproved states” the states that have not approved and/or licensed Drive Safe Today to offer state-approved defensive driving courses and related services. The current list of unapproved states are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In the aforementioned unapproved states, permission/approval from the appropriate parties to take one of Drive Safe Today’s courses must be requested and given before registration. Further clarification: You must get your insurance company/agent’s approval to take a car insurance discount course prior to registration. Also, you must get a judge/court’s approval to take one of our court-ordered courses prior to registration.
Drive Safe Today is not liable for any issues that may arise from failing to follow these instructions. As such, no refunds or reimbursements will be given or considered with respect to these terms.