- Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) Approved Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course & Online Permit Exam Package.
- Complete Learner's Permit Package - Save Money With this Combo Package (it Contains Everything that You Need to Get Your Permit).
- The TLSAE Course and the 50-Question Permit Exam are 100% Online.
- We Immediately Notify the Florida DHSMV of Your Completion (DMV updates records within 48).
- Complete this Combo Course to Earn Your Florida Learner's Permit (you must be between 14 years, 6 months to 18 years old to take this combo course).
- Unlimited TLSAE Course Final Exam Retakes for Free (there is an additional fee for each online permit exam retake).
Florida TLSAE Course and Permit Exam Combo
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course and Online Permit Exam are approved by the Florida DHSMV. They are required to obtain your learner's permit or first-time driver's license. Save on the TLSAE Course by registering for the combo! If you're between the ages of 14 years 6 months and 18 years, this combo course is perfect for you.
Easy and Convenient TLSAE and Permit Exam Combo Course
The course and exam are 100% online. Take the TLSAE Course at your own schedule by logging in and out - you must score at least 80% on the TLSAE final exam to pass and you have free unlimited exam retakes. The Permit Exam must be completed in one sitting and you have 60 minutes to complete the 50-question test with at least an 80% to pass. Each online permit exam retake is $29.95 - you have 3 chances total to pass the online permit exam. Rather than sitting in a boring classroom, this is the easiest, most affordable, and convenient way to complete your learner's license requirements.
Florida TLSAE Course and Online Permit Exam Certificate of Completion
Upon successfully finishing the TLSAE course, we'll provide a certificate that you can download for free and we'll immediately notify the DHSMV of your completion. Similarly, for the online permit exam, we'll immediately notify the DHSMV of your successful completion. At DriveSafeToday, our goal is to help you obtain your learner's license with a simple and stress free process. If you have any questions, reach out to our customer support team at (800) 991-0310 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, our TLSAE Course and Online Permit Exam are approved by the Florida DHSMV. Complete both to obtain your learner's permit. They are 100% online - no classroom required. This is the most affordable and convenient way to complete your learner's license prerequisites.
You must be under 18 to take the combo course online because the DHSMV allows individuals under 18 to take the Florida permit exam online. If you are 18 or over, please register for only the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course, as that can be taken by individuals of any age and you'll need to take the permit exam in person at a local DMV office.
The exam has a total of 50 questions. The questions are multiple choice and true/false. Our TLSAE Course, which is also a requirement to earning your learner's permit, will prepare you for this exam. The questions are on the topics of road rules and road signs. You have a total of 60 minute to answer at least 40 questions correctly to pass. Upon completion, we'll notify the DHSMV and provide you the next steps necessary to obtain your learner's permit.
We immediately notify the Florida DHSMV of your successful completion. You must visit a local DHSMV office and bring proof of identity, proof of social security (if issued), proof of address, and complete vision and hearing tests to obtain your learner's permit.
No. If you fail the online permit exam you must pay for each retake.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires all course providers to process and submit the TLSAE course completion information to them and all permit exam providers to contract with Solutions Thru Software (STS) for testing services. This $44.95 fee includes both the state assessment fee for the TLSAE course and the fee to STS for the permit exam plus a servicing fee that DriveSafeToday (the Provider) charges. The state assessment fee portion is $3 and it is remitted to the Department's Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund which is used to administer the General Operations of the Department. STS requires providers to remit an additional transaction fee for each Florida driver's license test started and/or administered by the provider. This fee includes an applicant usage fee and the additional per-test transaction fee of $4.42 that shall be remitted to STS in compliance with the State of Florida. The remainder is the servicing fee charged by the Provider which includes processing and submitting your information to the DHSMV and STS, credit card processing fees incurred by the Provider and maintaining certain course records pursuant to Florida Law.
You have already completed and passed a DHSMV Online Permit Exam. Please click below button to check.
Drive Safe Today considers “unapproved states” the states that have not approved and/or licensed Drive Safe Today to offer state-approved defensive driving courses and related services. The current list of unapproved states are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In the aforementioned unapproved states, permission/approval from the appropriate parties to take one of Drive Safe Today’s courses must be requested and given before registration. Further clarification: You must get your insurance company/agent’s approval to take a car insurance discount course prior to registration. Also, you must get a judge/court’s approval to take one of our court-ordered courses prior to registration.
Drive Safe Today is not liable for any issues that may arise from failing to follow these instructions. As such, no refunds or reimbursements will be given or considered with respect to these terms.