- Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course Online APPROVED by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
- Avoid Points, Reduce Court Fines, Fulfill Court/DMV Requirements or Earn a Car Insurance Discount (you can elect to take the course once every 12 months).
- Download a Certificate Immediately After Completion and We Notify the Florida DMV of Your Completion.
- Text, Audio, and Streaming Video Formats Available - this is the Most Convenient, Easy, and Entertaining Way to Complete the BDI Course Online.
- Unlimited Final Exam Retakes for Free.
Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course
Our 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course is approved by the Florida DHSMV. The course consists of easy-to-read sections which include information on vulnerable road users, defensive driving, drugs and alcohol, driving regulations, car maintenance, and special driving conditions. We've also included entertaining stories and interactive content so the time will pass before you know it. You also have the option to listen along with the course through audio narration that is provided for free.
Easiest Way to Complete the Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course Online
Our course is 100% online - classroom attendance isn't necessary. You may complete the defensive driving course according to your schedule by logging in and out - the course will resume from where you left off. You must score 80% on the final exam to pass but don't worry, you have unlimited attempts to pass at no extra charge. This is the easiest, most convenient, and affordable way to complete the Florida BDI course.
Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course Certificate of Completion
Upon completion the Florida DHSMV will be automatically notified and a Certificate of Completion will be made available for download. Each certificate has a certificate number generated by the DHSMV. If you're required to notify the court, it's your responsibility to submit your certificate to them. If you're taking this course for a car insurance discount you must submit the certificate to your insurance agent/company. We also offer the option to mail a printed signed and sealed certificate to you.
Try the Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course for Free
You may test out the Florida BDI course before you decide to purchase it. We believe in transparency - we want to make sure our everyone that takes the course with us is satisfied! We're confident that you'll love the basic driver improvement course!
Frequently Asked Questions
No. If the court requires notification that you completed the Florida BDI Course, you are responsible for submitting the certificate to them. Please contact the county court clerk for certificate submission information. We will only submit your information to the Florida DHSMV.
Yes. Our courses are accepted by the Florida DHSMV. We automatically notify the DMV upon successful completion. A Certificate of Completion is also emailed to you which you can submit to the court if you're taking this as a court requirement. You may also submit the certificate to your insurance company to qualify for a car insurance discount - please contact your insurance agent for possible discounts.
Within 30 days from the date you received the traffic citation you must inform the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the ticket that you want to take the BDI Course and pay them an election fee, which vary by county. Contact the court clerk for details.
You must NOT have a commercial drivers license (CDL); you must NOT have completed traffic school in the previous 12 months; and if taking the defensive driving course as a court requirement, you must contact the court within 30 days of receiving your citation and ask for permission to attend a traffic school.
During registration choose BDI - Court Required as the reason you are taking the course. You must complete the BDI Course within 30 days of being ordered by a judge. For any questions contact the court clerk.
No. This course is not meant to assist you with a suspended FL driver's license. Please contact your local AAA or FL DMV for suitable courses.
No, the BDI Course is only valid for a non-commercial driver's license.
You can choose to take a traffic school course if you committed a non-criminal moving violation on a regular driver's license or if the court ordered that you complete the course. You can take a Florida traffic school or driver improvement course once every 12-months to avoid points being added to your driver's license, but you can only complete the course five times altogether.
DriveSafeToday's course only costs $26.95. This amount includes the fee for the course, the state assessment fee of $2.50, and the servicing fees charged by DriveSafeToday.
The online basic driver improvement course in Florida takes a minimum of 4-hours to complete. An excellent benefit of the online course is that, instead of sitting in a classroom, you have the ability to complete the material on your own schedule. You can also always resume where you left off.
"BDI" stands for basic driver improvement course. This course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). Completion of the course keeps points off your record and ensures that your insurance rates don't increase.
To help you adhere to Florida driving and traffic laws, the basic driver improvement course sections cover vulnerable road users, defensive driving, drugs and alcohol, driving regulations, car maintenance, and special driving conditions.
Yes, there is a test at the end of traffic school to ensure that you comprehend the course material and to receive a certificate of completion. You must score at least an 80% on the final exam, but with DriveSafeToday's course, you have unlimited attempts to pass at no extra charge.
Our basic driver improvement course at DriveSafeToday offers unlimited attempts to score at least an 80% on the final exam for FREE.
To receive an auto insurance discount in Florida, you must submit your certificate of completion of the BDI course to your insurance agent/company. DriveSafeToday offers this certificate via download upon completion of the course.
To avoid costly insurance rate increases or possible license suspension, you can take a Florida DHSMV-approved basic driver improvement course. Completing this course helps you avoid having points added your driving record. Get in touch with the court within 30 days of receiving your traffic ticket to let them know that you'll be completing a Florida BDI course to clear your record.
You are allowed to take the basic driver improvement course in Florida once every 12-months (from the date of your traffic violation). However, you can't take the course more than five times in your lifetime.
Absolutely, as long as the driver improvement course is approved by the Florida DHSMV. DriveSafeToday's basic driver improvement course is 100% online which means that you can take it from anywhere rather than sitting in a stuffy classroom.
To find out how many points you have on your Florida driver's license, you need to obtain a copy of your driving record. You can purchase your driver's record for a fee from a driver’s license office, clerk of the court or tax collector’s office, or online at DriveSafeToday.com. The number of points on your license can result in the suspension of your driver’s license so it's important to know how many points you currently have: 12 points added to your record in a 12-month period results in a 30 day suspension. 18 points added to your record in an 18 month period results in a 3 month suspension. 24 points added to your record in a 36-month period results in a 1 year suspension. Completing a basic driver improvement course may be able to help you avoid more harmful points being added to your driving record.
Yes, three types of Florida driving records can be obtained from DriveSafeToday.com. A three-year, seven-year, and a complete driving record. You can opt to receive your record by U.S. mail or instantly by email or download.
Points placed on your Florida driver's license last 3 years or 36 months. However, you can avoid points being added to your license by taking an online basic driver improvement course.
If you don't contest your ticket or you lose your case in traffic court, completing a Florida DHSMV-approved basic driver improvement course can help keep your driving record clean. Upon completion of DriveSafeToday's BDI course, the Florida DHSMV will be automatically notified and a Certificate of Completion will be made available for download so you can personally notify the county court if required.
If you take the BDI course after one basic moving violation, you may be able to avoid your insurance rates going up by submitting your certificate of completion to your insurance agent/company. Be sure to check with your insurance company to determine what their policy if for an insurance discount.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires all course providers to process and submit the BDI course completion information to them. This $26.95 fee includes both the state assessment fee plus a servicing fee that DriveSafeToday (the Provider) charges. The state assessment fee portion is $2.50 and it is remitted to the Department's Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund which is used to administer the General Operations of the Department and the remainder is the servicing fee charged by the Provider which includes processing and submitting your information to the DHSMV, credit card transaction fees incurred by the Provider and maintaining certain course records pursuant to Florida Law.
You have already completed and passed a DHSMV Online Permit Exam. Please click below button to check.
Drive Safe Today considers “unapproved states” the states that have not approved and/or licensed Drive Safe Today to offer state-approved defensive driving courses and related services. The current list of unapproved states are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In the aforementioned unapproved states, permission/approval from the appropriate parties to take one of Drive Safe Today’s courses must be requested and given before registration. Further clarification: You must get your insurance company/agent’s approval to take a car insurance discount course prior to registration. Also, you must get a judge/court’s approval to take one of our court-ordered courses prior to registration.
Drive Safe Today is not liable for any issues that may arise from failing to follow these instructions. As such, no refunds or reimbursements will be given or considered with respect to these terms.